Around The Town

Around The Town

JPSF issues 2023 scholarships and awards:
The Jacksonville Public Schools Foundation is proud to announce the recipients of this year’s scholarships and awards which are managed by the Foundation. The following Jacksonville High School seniors were selected through this year’s scholarship application process:

Bobby Hoffman Memorial Scholarship ($500 award) – Kellen Leifheit, Jacob Pool and Deone Salther

Bud Walker Golf Award ($250 award) – Braden Doerr

McLain Family Scholarship($500 award) – Kellen Leifheit

Parker Oldenettel GearheadScholarship ($1,000 award) – Andrew Cooley

Rusty Vernor Scholarship($500 award) – Brock McCulloch

Terry Hickey 95 Vocational Program Award ($500 award)– Braden Snyder

William A. and Carlene L. Fortschneider Agriculture Award($500 award)– Alex Dufelmeier

Herman Dieckamp Scholarship (full tuition and fees at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) – Griffin Roegge

Applications for these scholarships are annually made available to JHS (Jacksonville High School) seniors through the JHS Student Services Office. Deadlines vary according to the scholarship, but are all during the spring semester.

This year’s awards were presented at the JHS Senior Awards Presentation held on Thursday, May 11 with the exception of the Bobby Hoffman Memorial Scholarship and the William A. and Carlene L. Fortschneider Agriculture Award. The recipients of the Bobby Hoffman Memorial Scholarship received their awards at the JHS College Signing Day on Monday, May 1 from Kristan Becker Hoffman and family. Alex Dufelmeier received the William A. and Carlene L. Fortschneider Agriculture Award on Monday, May 9 at the JHS FFA Banquet.

Congratulations to each of this year’s worthy recipients!

AMBUCS to hold annual golf outing and benefit auction on June 8:
The Jacksonville AMBUCS 23rd annual Golf Outing & 56th annual Benefit Auction will take place on Thursday, June 8 at the Links Golf Course. Registration starts at 11:30 a.m. with a shotgun start at 12:30 p.m. Tickets include golfing, dinner and (2) drinks.

Prizes are awarded for long drive and closest pin, plus there is a chance at the $20,000 hole-in-one on hole #4.

For those who are not golfers, please show your support by attending the dinner and auction portion of the day. Dinner at The 19th Hole and the awards presentation start at 5 p.m. The auction and drawings follow dinner.

AMBUCS provides wheelchair ramps and AmTrykes to those in need. AMBUCS supports the following locally: Camp Courage, Jacksonville Area Center for Independent Living, Pathway Services Unlimited, The Salvation Army, Jacksonville Food Bank and the Jacksonville Warming and Cooling Center.

To sign up to golf individually or as a foursome, become a hole sponsor or buy tickets for dinner, contact AMBUCS members Jeff Dawdy (217-473-4316), Randy Fergurson (217-473-6952) or Marty Copeland (618-980-9619).

Rotary Club of Jacksonville invites community to participate in 4th of July Parade:
The Rotary Club of Jacksonville invites the community to register to participate in its 4th of July Parade, which will take place at 10 a.m. on Tuesday, July 4. The theme of this year’s parade is “Hope Unites Us.”

Parade committee co-chair Joan McQuillan said, “We are honoring those whose words and actions lift us up and help us to feel connected — spreading hope, help, support and goodwill in our community.”

Rotarians Phyllis and Keith Lape will serve as parade marshals. The Rotary Club of Jacksonville is proud to honor the Lapes’ long careers in education, their extensive community involvement and their ‘Service Above Self.’

McQuillan said, “Please plan to take part in our parade. Join us in celebrating the hope that unites us as a community.”

The parade route will again originate on Grand Avenue (Morgan County Fairgrounds gate) headed east on West State Street to Central Park, turning right and proceeding counter clockwise around Central Park Plaza, then turning right onto North Main Street.

On the morning of the parade, registration begins at 8:30 a.m. and runs until 9:45 a.m. Registration entry point is on Westgate and Grandstand Road at the northwest gate of the Morgan County Fairgrounds. Parade lineup numbers will be assigned the day of the parade. The order of the parade line up is determined by the order in which entrants check in with registration staff; the first checked in will be the first placed. Lineup will be along Grandstand Road on the fairgrounds. Floats and long vehicles must arrive by 9 a.m. One person with each entry is required to check in to receive a parade number and last minute information. For entries with multiple vehicles, all vehicles must check in together.

Anyone who hasn’t pre-registered for the parade cannot be guaranteed a place in the parade, but may be offered an opportunity to form up at the end of the parade.

The deadline for pre-registering is 5 p.m. on Monday, June 26. Parade entrants can find registration forms to download at

CNB stockholders hold annual meeting:
The stockholders of CNB Bank Shares, Inc. held their annual meeting on Thursday, April 27, in CNB’s corporate headquarters in Carlinville. In addition to receiving a report on the past year’s performance, stockholders reelected the incumbent board of directors for the ensuing year.

Reelected to the parent company’s board were James Ashworth, Judith Baker, Shawn Davis, Nancy Ruyle, Richard Walden (Carlinville) and Spencer Cohn of Castle Creek Capital, LLC.

At a subsequent organizational meeting of the company on May 16, Richard Walden was reelected by the board to serve as chairman. The officers of the company were reappointed to their current positions, including Ashworth as president, Davis as senior vice president, Tom DeRobertis as vice president and Diana Tone as vice president and chief financial officer. Nancy Ruyle was named as corporate secretary.

The incumbent board of the subsidiary, CNB Bank & Trust, N.A., was reelected. The bank’s board consists of Walden (chairman), Ashworth, Baker, Davis, Ruyle, Peter Genta, Jim Salske (Carlinville), Joe Heitz (Alton), Rick Champley and George Yard (Taylorville), Kyle Schumacher (Jacksonville) and Andrew Tinberg (Oak Forest).

The officers of the bank were reappointed to their current positions, including Ashworth as vice chairman; Davis as president and CEO; and executive officers Tinberg, Tom DeRobertis, Maureen Oswald, Diana Tone, Darlene Ward and Chris Williams.

CNB Bank & Trust has full-service facilities in 17 communities, namely: Alton; Brighton; Carlinville; Carrollton; Chapin; Clayton, Missouri; Edwardsville / Glen Carbon; Hillsboro; Jacksonville; Jerseyville; Litchfield; Oak Forest; Palos Heights; Pittsfield; Taylorville; Tinley Park; and Virden. In addition to traditional loan and deposit banking services, CNB provides wealth management through its Trust operations, as well as a wide range of residential fixed-rate loan products for access to the secondary market through CNB’s mortgage department. Total consolidated assets for the company at 12/31/22 were $1,598,942,779.

Share This