Smiths receive award from Prairieland United Way

Smiths receive award from Prairieland United Way

Special to The Source

The Helen Baldwin Distinguished Service Award was developed in 1994 to recognize individuals who go above and beyond in their volunteer activities for Prairieland United Way. It was named for its first recipient, who chaired two campaigns and served as residential and business committee chair for many years. Helen Baldwin was a long-time board member who helped develop the allocations process and the Pacesetter leadership giving group. She continues to support United Way, both financially and with her time. Some past recipients include Linda Donovan; Joy French Becker; Ernie and Helen Downey; Mike Halsne; Bev Coats; Bob Sibert; Paul White; Bob and Janet Chipman; and Gary Scott.

Prairieland United Way Board President Lisa Stambaugh presented this year’s award to Andy and Lori Smith on behalf of the Prairieland United Way Board, with the following speech: “This year’s recipients of the Helen Baldwin Award have many shared values and a strong commitment to the Prairieland United Way community. This year’s recipients are long time leadership level donors. When their schedules allow, they are willing to step up and lend a hand, even emcee, in the rain, on a Saturday morning for a Prairieland United Way Color Run. In 2020, when everyone was following health restriction recommendations, their company’s employee campaign was assembled outside in small groups. In that same year, they were instrumental in securing an increase in the company contribution and this year, that company contribution was increased again. These two individuals were campaign chairs a decade ago. As all chairs do, they assisted at their company employee campaigns, no matter the time, even at dawn when a night crew was finishing their shift. They have served on many allocation panels, lending their expertise of the community needs to help make informed funding decisions to invest wisely in the many agency programs. Not only are they involved with the Prairieland United Way, but also other services groups, local schools and more. Prairieland United Way is proud to announce this year’s recipients, Andy and Lori Smith, from Bound to Stay Bound and the Jacksonville community.”

For more information about Prairieland United Way, please contact Karen Walker at 217-245-4557.

Share This