Westfair Volleyball wins!

  • Family members, friends and supporters gather for a group photo with the winning team.
  • The team celebrates together.
  • In a huddle, congratulatory words are given.
  • Westfair Christian Academy’s volleyball team poses with their trophies for sportsmanship and 1st place.
Back row from left to right: head coach Amy Bordean, freshman Rheagan Lacey (#10), junior Mia Bordean (#24), senior Annie Prevett (#18), sophomore Kayleigh Stutz (#4), freshman Rachael Jensen (#5), assistant coach Jenn Lacey and assistant coach Abbi Prevett. Front row from left to right: 8th-grader Libby Ishum (#28), freshman Claire Bunch (#11), sophomore Clara Ford (#30), senior Bella Piazza (#12), senior Allison Bowker (#44) and 8th-grader Savanna Ford (#23).

Submitted to The Source

Westfair Christian Academy is part of the Illinois Association of Christian Schools Conference. This year, Westfair hosted the conference at the old MacMurray gymnasium, which is now known as the Midwest Athletic Center. There were several teams from the Chicago area, Pekin, Danville, Rockford, Maryville and other areas in Illinois competing. 

The volleyball team’s head coach is Amy Bordean, who is supported by two assistant coaches, alumni Abbi Prevett and Jenn Lacey. The team had 18 wins not counting the state conference and four losses. 

At the conference, Westfair had been seeded second in the bracket. After winning their games on Friday, they placed themselves in the championship match on Saturday morning against the top-seeded team, Maryville Christian School. The first match Westfair won the first match 25-23, and in the second match, Westfair took the State Championship with a score of 25-19. This is the first time in the school’s history to win the IACS State Tournament for volleyball, Lacey notes.

Lacey says, “We are so proud of these girls. They have worked so hard this year to get this far and to win first place in our conference deserves some recognition. We have a very small and young team, but they are mighty.” 

Not only did the team win, but they also won a trophy for sportsmanship. Each participating team voted for who they believed should be the recipient of the sportsmanship award and Westfair was the ultimate winner.

Share This