Around The Town

Rotary Club of Jacksonville awards scholarships to Keller, Evans and Lane: At its May 13 meeting, the Rotary Club of Jacksonville recognized the accomplishments of three high school seniors by providing them with college scholarships.

The awards were made as part of the Rotary Club’s scholarship program, which provided (1) $1,000 college scholarship in memory of Staff Sergeant Matthew Weikert, and (2) additional $2,000 Rotary college scholarships. To receive the scholarships, the recipients must be well-rounded students who engage in community service and leadership positions. The Rotary scholarships are open to all students who live within the boundaries of Jacksonville School District 117, regardless of the school they attend. The SSG Matthew Weikert scholarship recognizes service and leadership; it targets, but is not limited to, Jacksonville High School (JHS) graduates/seniors who are returning to school or are seeking two-year programs.

The award recipients with their parents are (L-R) Shannon, Katelyn
and Daniel Keller; Melinda, Lexi and Michael Lane; and Amy, Natalie and Sean Evans.

Rotary Club President Cathy Littleton-Wahl said, “Our goal for these scholarships is to assist future leaders as they take the next step towards achieving their academic goals. Our scholarship recipients are very accomplished young people, and we look forward to seeing what they achieve in the future.”

The SSG Matthew Weikert Scholarship was awarded to Lexi Lane of JHS. Her service and work résumé include group and activity leader at Saturday Science, Youth Council member at Midwest Youth Services, “Take it to the Streets” summer lunch program volunteer, Wesley Vacation Bible School volunteer, work with the stage crew for the fall play and the musical, and work as a graphics assistant and designer at Bound to Stay Bound. Her school participation activities include National Honor Society, National English Honor Society, Scholastic Bowl, Science Club, Geography Club, Student Government, Interact Club, Chess Club and Key Club. Lane will be attending Missouri University of Science and Technology.

Katelyn Keller of JHS was selected for the Rotary Scholarship due to her extensive résumé of community service and leadership, which includes having planned the 5K run for the National Honor Society as the head coordinator, peer tutoring at JHS, working at wrestling meets, coaching soccer for kids at the local gym and working at volleyball tournaments. Her leadership positions include treasurer of National Honor Society, captain of Varsity Volleyball, captain of Varsity Soccer, Crimson Mentor and JHS Student Body President. Keller will be attending Southern Illinois University Edwardsville in the direct admit nursing program.

Natalie Evans of Routt Catholic High School (RCHS) also received a Rotary Scholarship based on her extensive record of service and leadership. She has volunteered for Chili Lunch for the track team and for the Catholic Daughters of America fish fry, rang bells for The Salvation Army, planted flowers at the Morgan County Fairgrounds, volunteered for Safe Trick or Treat for Halloween, wrote Christmas cards for local nursing homes and volunteered at Family Fun Festival. Her leadership positions include 2022 captain of RCHS Track Team, president of National Honor Society, Student Body Secretary and Student Ambassador, 4-H East Side Junior Club president, captain of 2021 RCHS Cheerleading and National Junior Red Angus Board of Directors. Evans will be attending Murray State University for veterinary science.

More information about the Rotary Club of Jacksonville’s Scholarship Program can be obtained by contacting Scholarship Chair Stephen Holt at 479-619-7358.

Central Park Market event scheduled for Thursday, June 2: Central Park Market will hold its second event Thursday, June 2 from 4-8 p.m. in Central Park Plaza in downtown Jacksonville.

New makers ranging from Keila Pasta, Fawnberry Apothecary and Sweet P Petals will be included in the 27 total vendors at the event. Live acoustic music by Giana Hines is set to take place in front of Haberdash, located at 70 N. Central Park Plz. Food trucks will be present and downtown brick-and-mortar business will stay open later, extending hours for the market.

This is a family-friendly event. Central Park Market takes place the first Thursday of each month from 4-8 p.m., through September. For more information, email or message Colleen Flinn, Jessica Lynn, Nick Little or Julie Rowe on Facebook Messenger. Find them on Facebook at

Jacksonville Sunrise Rotary Club donates to 2022 Prairieland Chautauqua: Chad Boehlke, coordinator for the 2022 Prairieland Chautauqua, accepts a $100 donation check from the Jacksonville Sunrise Rotary Club, presented by club president Jane Becker.

The 2022 Prairieland Chautauqua will be held on Labor Day Weekend, September 2 and 3, in the historic pavilion in Nichols Park in Jacksonville. The event is free and open to the public.

CNB stockholders hold annual meeting: The stockholders of CNB Bank Shares, Inc. held their annual meeting Monday, April 25, in CNB’s corporate headquarters in Carlinville. In addition to receiving a report on the past year’s performance, stockholders reelected the incumbent board of directors for the ensuing year.

Reelected to the parent company’s board were James Ashworth, Judith Baker, Shawn Davis, Nancy Ruyle, Richard Walden (Carlinville), and Spencer Cohn of Castle Creek Capital, LLC.

At a subsequent organizational meeting of the company on May 17, Richard Walden was reelected by the board to serve as chairman. The officers of the company were reappointed to their current positions, including Ashworth as president, Davis as senior vice president, Tom DeRobertis as vice president, and Diana Tone as vice president & chief financial officer. Ruyle was named as corporate secretary.

The incumbent board of the subsidiary, CNB Bank & Trust, N.A., was reelected. The bank’s board consists of Walden (chairman), Ashworth, Baker, Davis, Ruyle, Peter Genta, John T. Boehm, Jim Salske (Carlinville), Joe Heitz (Alton), Rick Champley and George Yard (Taylorville), Richard Foss and Kyle Schumacher (Jacksonville), and Andrew Tinberg (Oak Forest).

The officers of the bank were reappointed to their current positions, including Ashworth as vice chairman, Davis as president and CEO, and executive officers Tinberg, Tom DeRobertis, Maureen Oswald, Diana Tone, Darlene Ward and Chris Williams.

CNB Bank & Trust has full-service facilities in 17 communities, namely: Alton; Brighton; Carlinville; Carrollton; Chapin; Clayton, MO; Edwardsville / Glen Carbon; Hillsboro; Jacksonville; Jerseyville; Litchfield; Oak Forest; Palos Heights; Pittsfield; Taylorville; Tinley Park; and Virden. In addition to traditional loan and deposit banking services, CNB provides wealth management through its Trust operations, as well as a wide range of residential fixed-rate loan products for access to the secondary market through CNB’s mortgage department. Total consolidated assets for the company at 12/31/21 were $1,584,030,724.

Share This