Around The Town

Jacksonville Sunrise Rotary Club

It’s reassuring to have a freezer full of spareribs, chops, pork steaks and more, just in time for the holidays. Some lucky folks could suddenly find themselves ready to entertain friends and family with pork bundles from Jacksonville’s award-winning supplier of quality meats. The Jacksonville Sunrise Rotary Club announces a Pork Bundle Blast, a raffle of $100 of meat from Jones Meat & Locker, in Jacksonville. Tickets for the raffle are $10.00 each, giving those who enter two chances to win porky burgers, pork roast, pork steaks, spareribs, sausage packages, bacon, cubed tenderloins, pork chops, and more! Tickets for the Sunrise Rotary Pork Bundle Blast are available at Jones Meat & Locker, located at 2108 East State Street in Jacksonville, and from any Jacksonville Sunrise Rotary member. The drawing for the winners of the Blast will be held Tuesday, December 20, 2022.

The Illinois College Athletic Department

announced today that Abby Vorreyer has been promoted to Assistant Director of Athletics. Vorreyer has been the head men’s and women’s golf coach for the past nine seasons.

Vorreyer has overseen tremendous growth in the golf programs during her tenure including having Women’s Golf finish second in the SLIAC Conference Championship just a few weeks ago while the men finished third in the conference championship this past Spring.

Vorreyer has also been the advisor of the Illinois College Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. A Springfield, Illinois native, Vorreyer graduated from the University of Illinois Springfield, where she was an award-winning golfer. Since then, she has completed her certification process and is now a PGA professional member. She also is a member of the Illinois Women’s Golf Association Board.

Jacksonville Area Hall of Fame Inductions Resume in 2023

An organization that recognizes people for their significant contributions to the area has been revived. The Jacksonville Area Hall of Fame was established in 1990 and has previously inducted 65 people into the Hall. In 2023 another group of community leaders will be added to the hall, the first new additions since 2012.

Commented chair of the Jacksonville Area Hall of Fame Committee John Buchanan, “Our community has been and continues to be fortunate to have many strong community leaders who give of their time and energy. The Hall of Fame is an opportunity to provide well-earned recognition of their many contributions to the Jacksonville area.”

Due to the passing of several members of the Hall’s original board of directors, the organization had become inactive. Earlier this year, Mr. Buchanan gathered a group of people with the goal of reviving the awards. The organization plans to begin accepting nominations for the 2023 inductees in January and to host an induction event in early June 2023.

Routt Inducts 18 into National English Honor Society

Routt Catholic High School inducted 18 junior and senior students into its Marilyn Merris Chapter of the National English Honor Society.

“Students who are inducted into NEHS must meet certain qualifications to be invited to be members,” said Janet Chipman, English teacher and NEHS advisor at Routt. “It’s a great honor, and to be able to induct 18 of our students into NEHS is indicative of the robust language arts program at Routt.”

Inducted into the National English Honor Society – Marilyn Merris Chapter were:

Seniors – Paige Creviston, Cami Hurt, Hannah Parlier, Madisyn Roach and Jessica Winters.

Juniors – Rachel Beeley, Conrad Charpentier, Elsa Cole, Walter Copper, Cade Emerick, Bella Evans, Kennadi Johnson, Nolan Kaufmann, Amanda Laumakis, Clare Marshall, Kenlee Monroe, Carter Naeve and Jacee Weiss.

Cleta TerHerk, currently an English and Spanish teacher at Routt, who has served as an educator in Jacksonville for more than 54 years, delivered an address to students and to those in attendance at an induction ceremony held Oct. 13.

Certificates and white carnations were handed to each new NEHS member by Routt chapter officers: president, Julia Beeley; vice president, Lilly Geirnaeirt; secretary, Grace Geirnaeirt; treasurer, Isaac Anderson; and project co-chairs, Amber Alvarado and Jaymee Vollmer.

Senior members of the National English Honor Society – Marilyn Merris Chapter are Delaney Baker, Daxton Baptist, Kyler Gibson, Emily Kruzan, Will Merwin and Ethan Walker.

Share This