Foundation awards $45,000 in 4-H scholarships

The Illinois 4-H Foundation provided $25,000 in college scholarships and awarded another $20,000 in national conference travel scholarships this year.

“Our donors are generous and believe that higher education changes lives,” said Angie Barnard, Foundation executive director. Donors include Nann Armstrong, Patricia Clickener, Lila Jeanne Eichelberger, Keith and Lissa Parr, Donna Mueller, Dee Murray, George Obernagel, Legacy of Leadership endowment contributors, LA-CO, Barbara and George Clark, Barbara and George Clark, Ryan and Elaine Ruwe, Marvin and Elizabeth Schnitzler, Carrie Francis, Jason and Andrya Smith, Auxiliary to the Illinois State Veterinary Medicine Association and the Illinois 4-H Foundation. 

Illinois 4-H Foundation presents the Legacy of Leadership Scholarship to 4-H members who demonstrate and maintain a high standard of 4-H excellence and mastery during their membership tenure. Area winners include Anne Becker, Morgan County, Austin Dufelmeier, Morgan County and Katie White, Morgan County.

Twenty-four young adults were also recognized as winners in one of five divisions of the State 4-H Award. Each winner may choose either a $1,000 scholarship or a trip to National 4-H Congress in Atlanta.

In the leadership division, area winners are Austin Dufelmeier of Morgan County and Katie White of Morgan County.

• Farm Bureau salutes outstanding 4-H members – The Youth Education Committee of the Illinois Farm Bureau and its affiliates awarded nine Illinois 4-H members with its Leadership, Citizenship, and Professionalism Award this year. In addition to the award, the winners participate in an elite leadership training.

The area winners included Anne Becker, Morgan County.

• Key Award celebrates youth service and mentoring – The Illinois 4-H Key Award recognizes youth leaders who mentor and serve their community. This year eight 4-H teens were honored with this award. The award is sponsored by the H. Richard and Sarah F. McFarland Endowed 4-H Youth Leadership and Character Development Support Fund through the Illinois 4-H Foundation.

The late Richard McFarland was a 4-H and University of Illinois alum who experienced tremendous success in the food industry, agriculture, and real estate; and he shared the fruits of that success with the organizations he treasured, said Angie Barnard, Illinois 4-H Foundation Executive Director.

“When it comes to professional achievement, Dick believed that character and leadership development were just as valuable as formalized classroom education,” Barnard said. “Not only did he model entrepreneurial success, but he also made sure that Illinois 4-H youth and College of Agricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences students were afforded opportunities to build a similar path.”

Each year, 4-H members who exemplify the traits he admired receive the 4-H Key Award. Area winners included, Anne Becker, Morgan County.

Share This